Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Gone to Ground by Brandilyn Collins

I have a great new book, and I will be posting my review this week.  For now, I just want to give you a little information about the book and how Brandilyn Collins researched it.  I enjoyed Gone to Ground very much.  Scroll down for the book trailer.

About Brandilyn Collins -Author of Gone to Ground
Brandilyn Collins is a best-selling novelist known for her trademark
Seatbelt Suspense®. These harrowing crime thrillers have earned her the tagline, Don't forget to breathe . . .®, and have made her one of the most well-known figures in the mystery/suspense literary genre.

Following the steps of a mysterious serial killer, Brandilyn's latest novel, Gone to Ground (March 2012, B&H Fiction, $14.99, Trade Paper), takes readers to the fictional Southern town of Amaryllis, Mississippi. To research this book—her first set in the South—Brandilyn ventured to Jasper County, Mississippi. One of her biggest challenges lay in learning the accent well enough to recreate it in dialect, especially for the black character.

“I need to speak with an African American woman who’s at least sixty,” Brandilyn told the clerk. She was introduced to Cherrie Mae Gammage, whose first and middle names were so perfect for the character, Brandilyn asked for permission to use them. Cherrie Mae agreed, and later lent her musical Southern accent to the book trailer for Gone to Ground. Auditions for the other two characters’ voices were eventually held in Bay Springs, and the city clerk who introduced Brandilyn to Cherrie Mae became the voice for thirty-five-year-old Deena.

Brandilyn's first book, A Question of Innocence, was a true crime published by Avon in 1995. Its promotion landed her on numerous local and national TV/radio spots, including daytime talk shows. A speaker on the writing craft, Brandilyn is also known for her distinctive book on fiction-writing techniques, Getting Into character: Seven Secrets a Novelist Can Learn From Actors (John Wiley & Sons). The Writer magazine named Getting into Character one of the best books on writing published in 2002.

BRANDILYN COLLINS is the bestselling author of 23 novels. Awards for her work include the Carol Award (three times), Inspirational Readers' Choice, and Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice. When she's not writing, Brandilyn can be found teaching creative fiction at writers' conferences. She and her family divide their time between homes in the California Bay Area and northern Idaho. For more information, please visit


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...